Grammy time

JJust as the new year has started, it is time to sum up the previous one. The nominees for Spellemannprisen 2003, the Norwegian Grammy, are official. MIC gives you the whole list where you will find Lene Marlin, Karin Park, Thomas Dybdahl, and Julian Berntzen, among others.

Thomas Dybdahl

The list is dominated by artists on smaller labels, such as Jazzland, Tylden & Co, and Voices Music & Entertainment. Some of the commercial most successful artists, for instance Morten Abel, Jan Werner Danielsen, and Silje Nergaard are not nominated this year. However, Norway’s World Idol, Kurt Nilsen is nominated in two categories, Song of the year and Debut of the year, as well as his Idol colleague David. The Norwegian Grammy is awarded for the 32nd time in Oslo 28 January 2004.

There has never been more artists registered for Spellemannprisen. 519 applications are 25 % more compared to last year, which gives a clear pictures of Norwegian music’s strong position.

Female pop artist
LENE MARLIN ”Another Day” (EMI Music Norway)
KARIN PARK "Superworldunknown" (Waterfall Records)
BERTINE ZETLITZ "Sweet Injections" (EMI Music Norway)

Male pop artist
JULIAN BERNTZEN "Waffytown" (New Records)
MAGNET "On Your Side" (Warner Music)

Pop group
D’SOUND "Doublehearted" (Daworks Records)
EPHEMERA "Air" (Ephemera Records)
NUMBER SEVEN DELI "Falkner Street" (BMG Norway)

SNUTEN "Welcome to the Jungle" (C+C Records)
ULVER "Teachings in Silence" (Voices Music & Entertainment)
XPLODING PLASTIX "The Donca Matic Singalongs" (Sony Music)

AMULET "Danger! Danger!" (Sony Music)
RICOCHETS " The Ghost Of Our Love" (Music Network)
THULSA DOOM "And Then Take You To a Place Where Jars Are" (Big Dipper Records)
TURBONEGRO "Scandinavian Leather" (Burning Heart Records)
WE "Lightyears Ahead" (Black Balloon Records)

VIDAR BUSK "Love Buzz" (Warner Music)
AMUND MAARUD "Ripped, Stripped and Southern Fried" (BMG Norway)
TUMBLEWEED "Once More, With Feeling" (G.D.C. Records)

DIMMU BORGIR "Death Cult Armageddon" (Nuclear Blast)
ENSLAVED "Below the Lights" (Osmose)
OLD MANS CHILD "In Defiance of Existence" (Century Media)

DIAZ "Velkommen Hjem Andres" (Tee Productions)
EQUICEZ "State of Emergency" (Pass It Records)
PAPERBOYS "The Great Escape" (Bonnier Amigo Music Norway)

Folk music
JAN BEITOHAUGEN GRANLI "Lite Nemmar" (ta:lik)
MAJORSTUEN "Majorstuen" (Lindberg Lyd AS/2L)
STURLA/ANDREAS "Glimmer" (Lindberg Lyd AS/2L)

Dance band
GUNNAR FJELDSETH BAND "Fullt og Helt" (Tylden & Co)
OLE IVARS "Hverdag og Fest" (Tylden & Co)
PICAZZO "Tusen Dager Til" (Tylden & Co)

ATOMIC "Boom Boom" (Jazzland)
TORE BRUNBORG QUARTET "Gravity" (Vossa Jazz Records)
KARIN KROG "Where You At?" (Enja Records)
CHRISTIAN WALLUMRØD ENSEMBLE "Sofienberg Variations" (ECM/Grappa)
HÅVARD WIIK "Postures" (Jazzland)

Classic music
LEIF OVE ANDSNES "Grieg/Schumann: Piano Concertos" (EMI Classics)
OSLO PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA "Mahler Symphonies No. 1 & 9" (Simax Classics)
STAVANGER SYMFONIORKESTER "Geirr Tveitt - Wedding Suite/Troll Tunes" (BIS Records)

Contemporary music
RAGNHILD BERSTAD "Ragnhild Berstad: Respiro" (Aurora/Grappa)
BJØRN IANKE "Contemporary Double Bass Solo 3" (Simax Classics)

Popular songs
ELIAS AKSELSEN "Her Kommer Dine Arme Små" (VIA Music)
ERIK BYE OG MARINEMUSIKKEN "I Dur og Brott" (MM Marine AS/Marinemusikken)
OLE REINLUND "For Det Var Hit" (Platearbeiderne)

Open class
ANNE-LISE BERNTSEN/NILS ASHEIM "Kom Regn" (Kirkelig Kulturverksted)
HALLVARD BJØRGUM & CO "Free Field" (Hallvard Bjørgum)
MOTORPSYCHO/JAGA JAZZIST HORNS "Motorpsycho/Jaga Jazzist Horns"
NIKO VALKEAPÄÄ "Niko Valkeapää" (Duippidit)
WHEN "Pearl Harvest" (Voices Music & Entertainment)

Childrens music
LYRIAKA "Lyriakafabrikken" (Universal Music)
HEGE RIMESTAD/GEIRR LYSTRUP "Fly Som En Stein" (Euridice Turn Left)
NRK BARNE-TV/BARNESELSKAPET: UHU! "UHU! Vol 3" (Egmont Serieforlaget)

Music video
DIAZ "Hvem er denne karen" (Tee Productions/EMI)
FOLK OG RØVERE "Utadæsjælåpplevelse" (Voices of Wonder)
KAIZERS ORCHESTRA "Evig Pint" (Farmen)

Debut of the year
JULIAN BERNTZEN "Whaffy Town" (New Records)
EQUICEZ "State of Emergency" (Pass It Records)
REBEKKA KARIJORD "Neophyte" (Kirkelig Kulturverksted)
KARIN PARK "Superworldunknown" (Waterfall Records)

Song of the year
MARIA ARRENDONDO "In Love With An Angel" (Universal Music)
DAVID "Wild At Heart" (BMG Norway)
FOLK OG RØVERE "Utadæsjælåpplevelse" (Voices Music & Entertainment)
LENE MARLIN "You Weren’t There" (EMI Music Norway)
KURT NILSEN "She’s So High" (BMG Norway)

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 ·